top of page

BBC & GMT Weekly Update

Here is the first update of the season for the Division 1 competitions, courtesy of the CDSFA.

“Finally: It’s ON!

Everyone has been waiting – but this weekend it’s all back on. Football in the CDSFA kicks off after the imposed hibernation of the 2020 season.

Whilst there may be some fixtures in overage competitions getting underway tonight, it will be the flagship men’s and women’s leagues that will signal a full opening of the season proper for the Association. And it comes with some interest.

The Bill Brackenbury Cup (BBC) welcomes some new faces while still retaining some of its stalwart teams. Inter Lions still holding the crown will be out to hold off Enfield A – last season’s grand-finalists – as well regular powerhouse Strathfield. Coming into the season are Marrickville, Ashfield Pirates and Leichhardt Tigers.

Who is on the move? Well watch out for Enfield B. Pulling off the coup of the season, all-time goals leader has moved over from Abbotsford to the Rovers for the 2020 season. Four goals shy of hitting the century mark, Foti is certainly a major pick-up for Enfield B. Just to add to it all, he faces his old club in the first round of the season.

For our top female players contesting for the Grace Martin Trophy (GMT) there has been a few changes. Russell Lea have become prominent again in the division with two teams drawing back towards some of their glory years in the women’s 1st division competition, and Strathfield make their first foray into the top grade with a youthful and energetic team testing their metal against some seasoned campaigners.

Balmain continue to hold their position in the GMT as they look to consolidate a team that will see them develop and gain some ascendency in the coming years.

But in the end what else needs to be said about the game at Fortress Ewen Park on Sunday afternoon when those two clubs Hurlstone Park and Leichhardt Saints meet to open the competition. Saints boast the league all-time goals leader with the returning Amy Ng after a year away from the CDSFA, and the league all-time games leader in Sophie Lewis. Hurlstone Park contain a vast array of experience in their team too with a dual single season goals leader as well as several players on the all-time games list. Paddon and Paradisis will need to push their troops to the limits to hold out the reigning champs to open their account in 2020.

In a shortened season every game counts. It will be on from the opening referee’s whistle for teams to get out in front and look to stay there for the duration of the season.

Information is correct at time of publication.

* = 2019 Champions

2019 Season Leader:

Lewis Barmby (Balmain) – 20

All-time leaders:

Anthony Foti (Enfield) – 96 James Kovas (Inter Lions) – 85 Lewis Barmby (Balmain) – 53 James Fletcher (Marrickville) – 48

*= 2019 Leading Goal Scorer #= All-time leader since 2015

2019 Season Leader:

Zoe Zagami (Balmain) – 13 Michelle Reilly-Brown (Leich. Saints) – 13

All-time Leaders:

Amy Ng (Leichhardt Saints) – 72 Sophie Lewis (Leichhardt Saints) & Zoe Zagami (Balmain) – 58

Lucy Gonzalez (Leichhardt Saints) – 50 Maree Paradisis (Hurlstone Park) – 40

Saturday 4th July:

Strathfield v Marrickville

@ Strathfield Park #2 (synthetic), 4:30pm

Enfield A v Ashfield @ Henley Park #1, 3pm

Abbotsford v Enfield B @ Campbell Park #1, 3pm

Inter Lions* v Leichhardt Tigers @ Majors Bay (synthetic), 4:30pm

*=2019 Champions

Sunday 5th July:

Balmain v Russell Lea B

@ Waterfront Drive #1, 3:15pm

Russell Lea A v Strathfield

@ Queen Elizabeth Park #1, 2:45pm

Hurlstone Park v Leichhardt Saints* @ Ewen Park #1, 3pm




For full information on fixtures, results and tables go to or visit us at

Information is correct at time of publication.”

Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page